UFC Fight Night San Diego Review


If you stayed up until 6 a.m. this morning watching UFC Fight Night: Mir vs Duffee, then you were treated to an action packed 73 second main event. The two heavyweights came out swinging and Mir landed his left hand early from the southpaw stance.

Duffee was swinging back and landing lefts of his own but Mir has the better of the early exchanges and adds a knee from the clinch. After the one minute mark Duffee reaches with a right hand which Mir successfully counters with a brutal left hook which immediately knocks Duffee unconscious.

In the co-main event Tony Ferguson got the better of Josh Thompson in a convincing decision win. The first round was quite competitive with Ferguson forcing the action and walking Thompson down but Thompson finding counters to keep him at bay. Ferguson really takes control in the second round when he lands a huge elbow on Thompson which drops him. Ferguson adds more elbows in a ground and pound attack until he is stood up by Herb Dean for grabbing the fence.

He continues to pour it on Thompson after the restart but ends up on his back after a scramble. Ferguson continued to attack from the bottom with a triangle and then a kimura which led to a sweep. Both came out cwinging but Ferguson landed the first significant shot of the third round with a stepping elbow and he then hammers the body of Thompson as the round continues. Ferguson didn’t let up his pressure until the buzzer but an incredibly tough Thompson was able to survive.

Elsewhere on the card, Holly Holm looked much more assured in her second octagon appearance. She still doesn’t look like the finished product but she was in control throughout her fight with Marion Reneau. Alan Jouban and Matt Dwyer took part in the most eventful fight of the undercard with the highlight being Jouban landing a cartwheel kick.
Full Results:
Frank Mir def. Todd Duffee KO (punch)
Tony Ferguson def. Josh Thomson Decision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
Holly Holm def. Marion Reneau Decision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-26, 29-28)
Manvel Gamburyan def. Scott Jorgensen Decision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Kevin Lee def. James Moontasri Submission (rear-naked choke)
Alan Jouban def. Matt Dwyer Decision (unanimous) (29-27, 29-27, 29-27)
Sam Sicilia def. Yaotzin Meza Decision (unanimous) (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Jéssica Andrade def. Sarah Moras Decision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Rani Yahya def. Masanori Kanehara Decision (split) (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Sean Strickland def. Igor Araújo Decision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
Kevin Casey def. Ildemar Alcântara Decision (unanimous) (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Lyman Good def. Andrew Craig KO (punches)