Cage Contender Awards 2013: Results

The 2013 Cage Contender Awards in association with took place last night in The Louis Fitzgerald Hotel in Dublin.

There were six awards presented on the night. Fight of the Year, Fighter of the Year, KO of the Year, Submission of the Year, Team of 2012, and Personality of the Year.

The results are as follows..

Fight of the Year went to Owen Roddy and Shannon Gugerty for their epic 3 round bout at Cage Contender 14 in The National Basketball Arena in Dublin.

Fighter of the Year went to Gunnar Nelson who defeated Alexander Butenko at Cage Contender 12 before being signed to the UFC and defeating Demarques Johnson in the first round.

KO of the Year went to Conor Cooke for his vicious head kick knockout of UFC veteran Ross Pointon at Cage Contender 15 in Belfast.

Submission of the Year went to Gunnar Nelson for his first round armbar of Alexander Butenko at Cage Contender 12.

Team of the Year went to Mjolnir in Iceland following Gunnar’s win and Arni Isaksson capturing the interim welterweight belt via TKO over Wayne Murrie at Cage Contender 15.

Personality of the Year went to undefeated Irishman Paddy “The Hooligan” Holohan, who featured in our documentary “Ten Thousand Hours”

Owner/Editor of Writer, Podcaster, Producer of 'Notorious: Conor McGregor' film, 'Conor McGregor: Notorious' TV series, 'Ten Thousand Hours', 'The Fighting Irish' and more documentary films.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.